Skip to content

The Eatwell Guide

Your body needs lots of different nutrients to stay healthy. That means eating a variety of foods from each of the main food groups.

The EatWell Guide is designed to make healthy eating easier. It shows the different food groups and how much of each we need to have a healthy diet. Eating the right amount from each food group is called eating a "balanced" diet.

Eating well is important for all of us. In the short-term, it can help us to feel good, look our best and stay at a healthy weight. In the long-term, a healthy, balanced diet can reduce our risk of heart disease, diabetes, osteoporosis and some cancers.

What are the main food groups in the EatWell Guide?

  • Fruit and vegetables - Eat at least five portions every day.

  • Potatoes, bread, rice, pasta and other starchy carbohydrates - base your meals on these and choose wholegrain more often.

  • Dairy - Have some dairy or dairy alternatives. Choose low-fat or reduced-fat options.

  • Proteins - Eat some beans, pulses, fish, eggs, meat and other proteins. Have 2 portions of fish each week, one of which is an oily fish.

  • Oil and spreads - Choose unsaturated oils and spreads in small amounts.

  • Fluids - Drink six to eight cups / glasses of fluid a day.

Safefood Logo

Sign up for our latest healthy eating and recipe updates.

Safefood logo

The site content is redirecting to the NI version.