Skip to content

Nutrition standards for Early Learning and Care Services

These standards have been developed to inform, develop and implement Healthy Eating Policy and practice in Early Learning and Care Services. 

They assist early learning and care services in providing healthy food and drinks. They also help in creating an environment that promotes positive attitudes to eating and physical activity as part of a healthy lifestyle.

These Standards were developed by the Department of Health with the assistance of safefood and the Health Service Executive in cooperation with the Department of Children, Equality, Disability, Integration and Youth, the Early Learning and Care Centres Pilot Programme, and are based on the Healthy Eating Guidelines for 1 to 4 year olds.

Good nutrition and healthy eating habits build a healthy foundation for children. They are relevant to children aged 0 to 5 years and are intended as a resource for providers who are participating in Early Learning and Care Services.

The standards

The standards are food-based and are provided for drinks and for each meal type – breakfast, snacks, cold meals and hot meals.

Download: Nutrition Standards for Early Learning and Care Services

Related pages

education news logo

Sign up for updates on education resources and news.

Safefood logo

The site content is redirecting to the NI version.